Our website uses cookies to enhance your browsing experience and to collect information about how you use this site to improve our service to you. By not accepting cookies some elements of the site, such as video, will not work. Please visit our Cookie Policy page for more information on how we use cookies.

An Garda Síochána Scott Medal Awards 2023

The Garda Commissioner hosted a ceremony to award deceased, retired and serving members of An Garda Síochána with Scott Medals for bravery at Walter Scott House, Military Road, Dublin 8 on Friday 26th May 2023, at 11:00hrs.

11 Scott medals were awarded including:
• 1 Gold Medal (Posthumously)
• 7 Silver Medals
• 3 Bronze Medals (1 Posthumously)

In 1924 Colonel Walter Scott donated to An Garda Síochána a $1,000 gold bond, in perpetuity, to endow a bravery medal, the Walter Scott Medal, and included the dies from which all Scott medals would be struck.

The Scott Medal is the highest award that can be bestowed by the Commissioner of An Garda Síochána and is awarded for ‘most exceptional bravery and heroism involving the risk of life in the execution of duty’.

The ceremony took place at the An Garda Síochána National Bureau Headquarters, Walter Scott House. Walter Scott House is named after Colonel Walter Scott.