Our website uses cookies to enhance your browsing experience and to collect information about how you use this site to improve our service to you. By not accepting cookies some elements of the site, such as video, will not work. Please visit our Cookie Policy page for more information on how we use cookies.

Six New Divisional Protective Services Go Live on the 9/1/19

Garda Divisions in DMR South Central, Kerry, Kilkenny, Galway, Waterford and Limerick have established Divisional Protective Service Units as part of the Garda Síochána modernisation programme

Six new Divisional Protective Services Units (DPSUs) went live across six Garda divisions in the 1st week of January 2019 adding to the already established Units.  A total of 10 Divisional Units have now been established across nine Garda Divisions.

DPSUs, which are a major commitment in An Garda Síochána’s Modernisation and Renewal Programme, will deliver a consistent and professional approach to the investigation of specialised crime types, including sexual crime, child abuse and domestic abuse.

DPSUs will go live in the remaining 19 Garda Divisions throughout 2019. 

Training for personnel attached to each of the units commenced in the Garda College on the 7th January 2019.  The first module, on Sexual Crime investigation includes as part of the curriculum, input from victims of sexual abuse, who will give a presentation in relation to the victim’s perspective. 

Detective Chief Superintendent Declan Daly, Garda National Protective Services, said today that "the continued expansion of the DPSU project will ensure a consistent level of service by An Garda Síochána to the victims of Sexual crime and Domestic Abuse. They are a welcome and valuable addition to Garda Divisions and will add to the service we provide”.


The DPSU’s already in existence are located in DMR West, Clondalkin, Louth and Cork.