Cookie Consent
We use cookies to give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your cookie settings, we assume that you consent to our use of cookies on this device. You can change your cookie settings at any time but if you do, you may lose some functionality on our website.
Garda Confidential No.: 1 800 666 111

Stations that are due to close on the 30/3/12

Twenty nine Garda Stations

In December, the Minister for Justice & Equality announced plans to close 31 (thirty-one) garda stations and a further 8 (eight) garda stations which are currently non operational.

The decision was taken following an assessment of activity levels in each garda station carried out by Divisional Officers.

The eight garda stations which are already non-operational are: Castletownsend and Ballygurteen in Cork West; Ballinure and Ballinderry in Tipperary; Ballywilliam in Wexford; Doochary in Donegal; Geashill in Laois/Offaly and Tarmonbarry in Roscommon/Longford.

All except Tarmonbarry will formally close on 30th March, 2012.

List of the 29 garda stations -

Division  District  Stations to close Closure Date The Garda Sub-District(s) that will deliver the policing service to area policed by the Garda Station due to close
Clare Kilrush Carrigaholt  30th March 2012  Kilkee
Mayo Belmullet Bellacorick   30th March 2012  Bangor Erris
Mayo Castlebar Glenisland 30th March 2012  Castlebar
Mayo Castlebar Tourmakeady   30th March 2012  Partry
Mayo Westport Mulranny   30th March 2012  Newport
Roscommon/Longford Boyle Cootehall 30th March 2012  Boyle
Limerick Askeaton Shanagolden 30th March 2012  Foynes
Limerick Bruff Doon 30th March 2012  Cappamore
Cork North Cobh Glenville  30th March 2012  Carrignavar
Cork West Clonakilty Castletownsend 30th March 2012  Skibbereen
Cork West Clonakilty Ballygurteen 30th March 2012  Dunmanway
Cork West Kanturk Knocknagree 30th March 2012  Rathmore
Cork West Bandon Ballyfeard   30th March 2012  Kinsale
Cork West Bantry Goleen   30th March 2012  Schull
Cork West Macroom Inchigeela  30th March 2012  Ballingeary
Kerry Listowel Ballylongford   30th March 2012  Tarbert            
Kerry Listowel Moyvane  30th March 2012  Tarbert                  
Kerry Tralee Clochan 30th March 2012  Castlegregory
Tipperary Thurles Ballinure 30th March 2012  Killenaule
Tipperary Nenagh Ballinderry 30th March 2012  Borrrisokane
Wexford New Ross Ballywilliam 30th March 2012  New Ross
Wexford Wexford Baldwinstown 30th March 2012  Kilmore Quay
Cavan/Monaghan Monaghan Clontibret 30th March 2012  Monaghan
Cavan/Monaghan Monaghan Smithborough 30th March 2012  Monaghan
Cavan/Monaghan Baileboro Tullyvin 30th March 2012  Cootehill
Donegal Glenties Doochary 30th March 2012  An Clochan Liath              
Na Gleannta
Sligo/Leitrim Ballymote Bunnanadden  30th March 2012  Ballymote
Sligo/Leitrim Manorhamilton Kiltyclogher   30th March 2012  Kinlough
Laois/Offaly Tullamore Geashill 30th March 2012  Daingean