Cookie Consent
We use cookies to give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your cookie settings, we assume that you consent to our use of cookies on this device. You can change your cookie settings at any time but if you do, you may lose some functionality on our website.
Garda Confidential No.: 1 800 666 111

Geographical Layout

Regions, Divisions and Districts

This map shows Garda Divisions

For policing purposes the country is divided into 6 regions, each of which is commanded by an Assistant Commissioner.  

The 6 regions are:

  • Dublin Metropolitan Region
  • Northern Region
  • Western Region
  • Eastern Region
  • Southern Region
  • South Eastern Region

The duties of the regional Assistant Commissioners are mainly operational. They are responsible for:

  • Ensuring the operational efficiency of their respective Region
  • The quality of operational management exercised by their Divisional and District Officers

Each region is divided into divisions commanded by a Chief Superintendent, and each division is then divided into districts commanded by a Superintendent. A Superintendent in charge of a district is also known as the District Officer. He is assisted by a number of Inspectors. The districts are divided into sub-districts, each normally the responsibility of a Sergeant. Each sub-district usually has only 1 station, the strength of which may vary from 3 to 100 Gardaí. In some areas there are stations known as sub-stations which for administrative purposes are attached to a parent station. These sub-stations are usually occupied by 1 garda member. There are 564 Garda Stations throughout the country.