Cookie Consent
We use cookies to give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your cookie settings, we assume that you consent to our use of cookies on this device. You can change your cookie settings at any time but if you do, you may lose some functionality on our website.
Garda Confidential No.: 1 800 666 111

Coiste Siamsa Garda Sportstar Awards

Dublin 16th November 2012

Tonights winners.


Click here to view photographs of the event 

This year’s winners are;

Basketball - Garda Ladies Team; who won the European Police Championships in November 2011, which was hosted by Ireland in DCU.  This was Ireland’s first ever Gold Medal in a European Police championship.

Team members - Angelene Myers, Anglesea Street; Gillian Morris, Special Detective Unit; Mary Gardiner, Ballybunion; Maria Flynn, NBCI; Caitriona O'Connell, Anglesea St.; Catherine Canty, Fermoy; Alana Lowe, Dundrum; Michelle Fahy, Henry St., Limerick; Michelle Conway, Mayfield, Cork; Grainne Shaughnessy, Kells, Co.Meath; Edel Cadam, Castlerea, Co.Rosscommon; Susan Rowland,Crumlin; Caitriona White, Terenure, Dublin

Boxing - Adam Nolan;  National welterweight boxing champion 2011 and 2012. Represented Ireland at London 2012.  Adam is a Garda stationed at Bray Station and is a native of Co. Wexford.

Camogie - Josie Dwyer;  won her third All Ireland Camogie medal with the three in a row winning  Wexford camogie team on 16th September 2012.  Josie is a Garda stationed at Wicklow Garda Station.

Canoeing - Peter Egan; a Garda stationed at Tallaght Garda Station, is National champion K2 Marathon 2012.  Was 2nd in the K1 national Championships 2012 and finished in 3rd position in the International Liffey Descent 2012. Peter is from Lucan Co.Dublin.
Cycling - Garda Ladies Team; who won the Team Time trial event at the European Police Cycling Championships in September 2012, which was hosted by France.

Team members; Garda Eve McCrystal, Ballybay Garda Station - Garda Sandra Fitzgerald, Donnybrook Garda Station-Garda Sheila Clavin, Henry Street Garda Station-Garda Laura Griskeviciute, Kilkenny Garda Station-Garda Sheila Griffin, Watercourse Road Garda Station-Garda Caroline Ryan, Pearse Street Garda Station.
Cycling - Sandra Fitzgerald; a Garda attached to  Donnybrook Garda Station, was part of the two person team which won Ireland’s first ever Para-cycling Road Gold Medal at the Para-cycling World Cup in Spain in June 2012.  Sandra competed at the London 2012 Paralympics.  She also won the ladies road race in the European Police Cycling Championships in September 2012 in France. Sandra is a native of Cobh, Co. Cork.

Gaelic Football - David Clarke; is the current captain of the mayo senior football team, playing in goal for the county during the 2012 season which saw Mayo beaten in the All- Ireland final.  David is a Garda stationed in Sligo Garda Station.

Handball - Tony O'Flaherty; winner of the over 50s doubles category in the World Handball Championships held in Dublin in September 2012.  Tony is a Garda stationed at Mayorstone Garda Station in Co Limerick and is originally from Nenagh, Co.Tipperary
Administartion Award: 

Darren Conlon is current secretary of the Garda Boxing club and recently organised the ‘Kops4Kids’ boxing event between An Garda Síochána and the NYPD which raised €110,000 for Crumlin Children’s Hospital. Darren is a Detective Garda attached to the Special Detective Unit at Harcourt Square and is a native of Ballyhaunis, Co. Mayo.

Hall of Fame Award:

Frank Moore (Retired Chief Superintendent). He has won on a total of 14 senior Irish Championships in rowing and two Henley regattas.  He has competed in two Olympic Games and four World Championships.  Frank carried the flag for Ireland at the opening ceremony of the 1976 Olympic Games in Montreal.  In cycling, he has won the Irish Veteran championship and represented Ireland at the European Police Championships. Frank is a native of Co.Laois.