Our website uses cookies to enhance your browsing experience and to collect information about how you use this site to improve our service to you. By not accepting cookies some elements of the site, such as video, will not work. Please visit our Cookie Policy page for more information on how we use cookies.

An Garda Siochana Announces New Regional and Divisional Headquarters under new Operating Model

An Garda Siochana Announces New Regional and Divisional Headquarters under new Operating Model

An Garda Siochana has today announced the locations of the new Regional and Divisional Headquarters as part of the restructuring programme under the new Operating Model. The Regions will reduce from six to four and the Garda Divisions from 28 to 19.

A wide range of operational factors have been considered when deciding where the new Regional and Divisional Headquarters should be based. These factors included: population, geography, projected growth, crime trends and workload across a range of work streams.

Press Release issued on the 10/10/19:

An Garda Síochána Announces First Five Operating Model Divisions

The new Regional and Future Divisional Headquarters are:

North Western Region
Regional HeadquartersMurrough, Co. Galway
Regional Chief SuperintendentMonaghan, Co. Monaghan
Divisions and Headquarters in North Western Region
GalwayMurrough, Co, Galway
Mayo/Roscommon/LongfordCastlebar, Co. Mayo
Donegal/Sligo/LeitrimLetterkenny, Co. Donegal
Cavan/Monaghan/Louth  Drogheda, Co. Louth

Eastern Region
Regional HeadquartersKilkenny, Co. Kilkenny
Regional Chief SuperintendentKilkenny, Co. Kilkenny
Divisions and Headquarters in the Eastern Region
Meath/WestmeathMullingar, Co. Westmeath
Laois/Offaly/Kildare  Portlaoise, Co. Laois
Wexford/Wicklow  Wexford, Co. Wexford
Waterford/Kilkenny/Carlow  Waterford, Co. Waterford

Southern Region
Regional Headquarters Anglesea Street, Cork City
Regional Chief SuperintendentAnglesea Street, Cork City
Divisions and Headquarters in the Southern Region
Cork City       Anglesea Street, Cork City
Cork CountyMacroom (Bandon until new headquarters is built in Macroom)
KerryTralee, Co. Kerry
LimerickHenry Street, Limerick
Clare/Tipperary Ennis, Co. Clare

Dublin Metropolitan Region
Regional HeadquartersHarcourt Square, Dublin
Regional Chief Superintendent                 Harcourt Square, Dublin
Divisions and Headquarters in the DMR
DMR NorthBallymun, Dublin
DMR South Crumlin, Dublin
DMR North Central Store Street, Dublin
DMR South Central  Kevin Street, Dublin
DMR East Dún Laoghaire, Dublin
DMR West Blanchardstown, Dublin

The new Operating Model has already commenced with the amalgamation of Regions and will be introduced into Divisions on a phased basis. Divisions in the border Region are unlikely to see any significant change until further clarity is available on Brexit.

Commissioner Harris said today, “Our new Operating Model will see larger Divisions with more resources. It will deliver increased Garda visibility in communities, as well more localised services. Resources will be strongly focused on community policing. Chief Superintendents and Superintendents will be empowered to make decisions on how policing is best delivered within their Divisions while working to a corporate framework. Superintendents will be located throughout the Divisions and will be supported by additional Sergeants and Inspectors.

“In addition, our new Operating Model will enhance the investigation of crime through the delivery of a greater range of specialised services in local areas such as the investigation of sexual crime, domestic violence, cyber crime, and economic crime. Each Division will be provided with a Detective Superintendent who along with trained investigators in specialist areas will be responsible for local crime investigation. Complex or highly technical crimes will generally be dealt with at national level.”