Cookie Consent
We use cookies to give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your cookie settings, we assume that you consent to our use of cookies on this device. You can change your cookie settings at any time but if you do, you may lose some functionality on our website.
Garda Confidential No.: 1 800 666 111

The EIQA National Q Mark Awards 2012

The Garda Professional Standards Unit was accredited the 2012 EIQA National Q Mark for Quality Management Systems Level 1.

The Unit achieved this award ahead of a number of other selected organisations in the public and private sector. 


Deputy Commissioner Rice accepted the award on behalf of the Garda Professional Standards Unit from Managing Director of EIQA, Irene Collins.


According to Deputy Commissioner Rice, the Garda Professional Standards Unit is the driver of the Organisation’s Continuous Improvement Programme and the champion of An Garda Síochána’s Vision: Excellent People delivering Policing Excellence.


Deputy Commissioner Rice also acknowledged that, as the Organisation’s ‘Examiners’ of operational, administrative and management performance, the Garda Professional Standards Unit also requires that their method of operation is subjected to similar validation.  The rigorous assessment by EIQA and the achievement of the Q Mark is confirmation that the processes and procedures adopted by the Garda Professional Standards Unit meet the highest standards. 


External accreditation by EIQA is hugely important as it validates An Garda Síochána’s commitment to quality management and also provides a benchmark with other organisations in the public and private sector. 


Please click here to see photographs taken at presentation



Group photo on front page:


Back Row:


Alan Hall CO, Sergeant Maurice Cunningham, Inspector Anthony Twomey.


Middle Row:


Sergeant Louise Mulligan, Assistant Commissioner Fintan Fanning, Deputy Commissioner Nacie Rice, Irene Collins Managing Director EIQA, Chief Superintendent Pat Clavin, Sergeant Irene Campbell, Clare O'Sullivan, Inspector Margaret Howard.


Front Row:


Garda Barry Mills, Gráinne Shortall HEO, Deirdre Hughes EO, Garda Martin Hopkins.